Exploring the Beautiful Shores of Southern Cali on an Electric Assist Bike

La Jolla Cliffs

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m a BEGINNER biker chick. However, my husband Tory loves biking so much that it’s starting to rub off on me. Since he does all the hard stuff, such as researching and purchasing the necessary equipment, choosing the best routes, and motivating me to follow him on crazy trails and through traffic, I’m slowly learning there’s more to it than tight, padded clothing and silky smooth man legs!

The real trick to keeping up with my guy, while on the hills of California, is that I was riding an electric assist bike. These things are AMAZING! Since I complained when my hubby bought this thing (they aren’t cheap), I won’t be showing him this post. Seriously though… I was able to stay right on his tail in some difficult spots! If the hills got too steep, I just chose the turbo level (yep, the highest power assist) and cruised up the hill. I especially loved passing a few people, who looked like REAL bikers, who were huffing and puffing all the way up! In the picture below, our electric assist looks small, compared to the big pink one I found along the way but it’s actually pretty big. People would always shout out “nice bike!” or “look at those huge tires!” as I passed by.

Me on Huge Pink Bike

Our first ride was to the La Jolla Shores.

La Jolla ride

We started out at a condo we rented, about 15 minutes away from the beach. I held my breath and dodged in and out of traffic a bit, right behind my husband, until we got to the actual shoreline. If there wasn’t so much traffic in La Jolla, it would be perfect. There was a great little trail along the cliffs that I especially liked. There was a spot where we had to get off the bikes and walk them down narrow stairways but, all in all, the breathtaking views made it all worth it! Next time we’ll stay closer to the beach and skip the crazy traffic but I hope we make it back to the La Jolla Cliffs!

IMG_3997

The 2nd Cali ride we did was the San Diego Bay Loop. If I would have realized what I was in for on this ride, I might not have done it. BUT, we were brave and it was pretty memorable.

San Diego Loop

We took the Coronado Island Ferry out to our starting point.

Coronado Ferry

This was the easy part, of course! We then followed a nice concrete trail for about 13 miles. We were able to view the ocean on and off, during this portion.

coronado2

The remaining trail became difficult to follow at some points because there weren’t clear markers. We had to backtrack a few times and go through a US naval base and some pretty busy traffic at the end but it was a good learning experience.

All in all, the bike adventures added a lot to our California visit! It’s so much more personal seeing a place by foot or bike than from behind the glass window of a car! Let me know if you try either of these rides or if you know of some other ones in the same area!

One thought on “Exploring the Beautiful Shores of Southern Cali on an Electric Assist Bike

Leave a Reply

